Back to Search
🟠 DOUBTFUL (MUSHBOOH)

e471

Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids

Also known as:Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acidsGlyceryl MonostearateYağ asitlerinin mono ve digliseritleri

What is this Additive?

An emulsifier derived from animal fats (including pork) or vegetable oils (soy, palm). It prevents oil and water from separating. Unless the source is explicitly stated on the packaging, it is doubtful.

Vegan / Vegetarian?

If the product carries a "Vegan" certification, the E471 used is 100% plant-based and Halal.

Fatwa Rulings

Global Halal certification bodies (JAKIM, HMC) and Islamic scholars consider E471 as doubtful (Mushbooh) unless it is certified Halal or explicitly marked as 100% plant-based.

Commonly Found In:

Packaged breads, cakes, chocolates, ice cream, margarine, and peanut butter.